The city of London boasts some of the most must-see tourist attractions in the world, without a doubt.
From Buckingham Palace to The London Eye, the capital hosts a series of incredible activities that many holidaymakers flock to each year.
However, one of London’s iconic landmarks is Piccadilly Circus, and it hasn’t changed much since the 1960s.
Stunning vintage photos show the famous road which date back to over sixty years ago, but – other than an update – clearly barely anything has changed since.
Piccadilly Circus was built just over 200 years ago, opening to the public in 1819 and acting as a rather luxury link between John Nash’s George IV-commissioned Regent Street and the Piccadilly thoroughfare.
The name ‘Piccadilly’ originates from a seventeenth-century frilled collar named a piccadil.
Roger Baker, a tailor who became rich making piccadils lived in the area.
The word ‘Circus’ refers to the roundabout around which the traffic circulated.
Piccadilly Circus is where many locals and tourists choose to meet up because of its privileged location in the heart of London, and as it is close to famous leisure and shopping areas.
Covent Garden is just a stone’s throw away, and Leicester Square is a short walk from the attraction.
Eros is the popular name for the wingèd archer – and Greek of love – in the centre of Piccadilly Circus, which is still a popular photo opportunity for tourists.
A memorial to the 7th Earl of Shaftesbury, it is the work of Sir Alfred Gilbert (1854–1934) and was created in 1893.
From December 1998, digital projectors were used for the Coke sign, the square’s first digital billboard, but then from 2000 there was a move to LED displays.
Today, The Circus is particularly known for its video display and neon signs mounted on the corner building on the northern side.
Have a story you think we should cover? Email firstname.lastname@example.org and email@example.com
Want more from MyLondon? Sign up to our daily newsletters for all the latest and greatest from across London here.