BRITS looking for a winter holiday will need to check before boarding as Covid travel restrictions remain in 38 countries around the world.

We’ve rounded up the countries which have banned Brits, or are forcing UK arrivals into long quarantines when they get there.

More countries have banned Brits or are enforcing long quarantines on arrival


More countries have banned Brits or are enforcing long quarantines on arrival


Brits are banned from Australia, unless they fall under a specified exempt list, such as if you are immediate family of an Australian citizen.


Entry and exit at Benin border crossings is limited to ‘extreme necessity’, according to the UK foreign office.


Bhutan’s borders are closed to all foreign nationals, including Brits.

The Bhutan government has not yet specified when the country will reopen to foreign visitors.


Entry to Brunei is severely restricted.

On December 14, Brunei announced Brits would be permitted to enter the country for non-essential travel.

However, that was scrapped on December 22 due to the spread of Omicron in the UK.

Foreign nationals can only enter Brunei for essential travel.


Brits can enter Chile, but need proof of vaccination which must be validated by the Chilean government – which can take up to 30 days.


The Chinese authorities have suspended all direct flights from the UK.

It is yet to be announced when this rule will be reviewed.

Falkland Islands

Tourists are not permitted to visit the Falkland Islands, including via cruise vessels.

Friends of residents can visit if they are sponsored by an island resident who is present in the Falklands at the time of arrival.

They will be subject to quarantine for up to 14 days.


France has hinted its UK travel ban will soon be loosened.

Currently, only Brits travelling for essential reasons can visit France, regardless of whether they are vaccinated.

Travellers with an essential reason, for example, to see a dying relative, must present a negative PCR or antigen test result taken within 24 hours of departing.

Anyone coming from the UK must also provide contact details, including the address they will be staying at, to the French authorities.

Hong Kong

On January 8, Hong Kong imposed a two week travel ban for Brits.

Most read in News Travel


International passengers from the UK who have been in or in transit through the UK in the previous 14 days are banned from entering Indonesia.

Official delegates and foreign diplomats serving in Indonesia are exempt.


Brits who do not have existing resident status are not permitted to enter Japan for any purpose, other an in exceptional circumstances.

Brits with residence in Japan will be denied entry if they are travelling from some African countries.


Entry to Malaysia for Brits is prohibited.

Some exemptions may apply, including Brits with permanent resident status and those married to Malaysian nationals.


Morocco banned all UK arrivals back in October, giving travellers less than one day’s notice.

The Moroccan government has extended the suspension of all flights and ferry services in and out of Morocco until January 31.


All travellers from the UK, irrespective of their vaccination status or possession of a negative test, must quarantine for 10 days upon arrival in the Netherlands.

This can be reduced to five days if the person receives a negative test result from the Dutch authorities on day five.

New Zealand

The New Zealand border is currently closed to almost all arrivals, including Brits.

You may be able to travel to New Zealand while the border is closed if you are considered to have a critical purpose to travel, for example, if you are a health worker.

On December 21, the New Zealand government announced a postponement to the gradual easing of border closures to help contain the spread of Omicron.

The phased easing of borders will be revisited by the end of February.


Vaccinated Brits can enter Qatar but must then quarantine for two days or until they receive a negative test result.

Unvaccinated Brits must isolate for seven days.


Only Singapore citizens and permanent residents can enter Singapore without prior permission.

South Korea

Brits can travel to South Korea, but must quarantine for 10 days on arrival.


Taiwanese authorities have announced a temporary ban on foreign nationals entering the country.

Exceptions apply to foreign spouses of Taiwanese nationals, international students and researchers.


Vietnam has suspended entry into the country for all foreign nationals.

There are a small number of exceptions for certain highly skilled workers, which will be processed on a case by case basis.

Here are the other countries which have banned tourists due to Covid right now:

  • Cook Islands
  • Eritrea
  • Gabon
  • Iran
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Macao
  • Madagascar
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Nauru
  • Niger
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Pitcairn Island
  • Suriname
  • Thailand
  • Tonga
  • Turkmenistan
Brits have been banned from more countries due to Omicron


Brits have been banned from more countries due to Omicron
Brit travellers stuck in long queues at London’s St Pancras ahead of French travel ban
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign Up for Our Newsletters

Get notified of the best deals on our WordPress themes.

You May Also Like

France hints UK travel ban will be loosened soon as countries that might FINALLY be reopened to Brits revealed

Table of Contents Hide Most read in The SunWHERE BRITS STANDFranceNetherlandsSpainPortugalCyprusItalyGreeceUSTurkeyNew Zealand…

Why you should never eat the bread rolls during a flight

BEFORE you tuck into your airline meal, you might want to give…

Who built Machu Picchu?

Table of Contents Hide Who built Machu Picchu?How did they build Machu…

Salzburg hits the high notes during summer festival season

The women’s evening gowns fluttered gently in the summer breeze as they…