Image default

Who is hosting Euro 2020 and why does the tournament take place in different countries?

The UEFA Euro 2020 trophy in Rome.
Which team will be lifting the trophy come July 11? (Picture: Getty)

The UEFA Euro 2020 tournament is finally going ahead, and there are a number of changes this year that make it a unique event in the competition’s history.

The tournament is going ahead from today, June 11 until July 11, as 24 teams from across Europe will be going head to head in the hopes of lifting the trophy.

Gareth Southgate’s England squad will be hoping to go one step forward than they did in the 2018 World Cup, where they were knocked out in the semi-final.

But if being delayed a whole year due to the coronavirus outbreak wasn’t change enough, these Euros will also be hosted in 11 different cities, a first for the tournament.

The tournament is usually only hosted by one country – France hosted the last Euros back in 2016, which saw Portugal win in the final against the hosts.

Which cities will be hosting the Euro 2020 games, and why is it different this year?

Euro 2021 groups

The UEFA Euro 2020 tournament is taking place from June 11 – July 14.

It all kicks off with the group stage, with the top two teams of each group proceeding to the knockout rounds once all the fixtures have been played.

Group A

  • Turkey
  • Italy
  • Wales
  • Switzerland

Group B

  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Belgium
  • Russia

Group C

  • Netherlands
  • Ukraine
  • Austria
  • North Macedonia

Group D

  • England
  • Croatia
  • Scotland
  • Czech Republic

Group E

  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Poland
  • Slovakia

Group F

  • Hungary
  • Portugal
  • France
  • Germany

Read more about Euro 2020 here.

Who is hosting Euro 2020?

Outside London Wembley Stadium with signs for Euro 2020.
London’s Wembley Stadium will be hosting the final (Picture: Getty)

Stadiums in 11 different cities across Europe will be hosting the games, with most venues operating at a reduced capacity to keep in line with social distancing guidelines in their respective country.

Along with forcing a year delay, the coronavirus pandemic has also caused two of the original host cities, Dublin and Bilbao, to give up their fixtures.

The opening ceremony tonight will be taking place in Rome’s Stadio Olimpico from 7pm UK time, followed by the first game of the tournament between Turkey and Italy at 8pm.

The semi-finals and final will be held in London’s Wembley Stadium, along with some of England’s group games and a round of 16 fixture.

Here are all the different venues:

  • Stadio Olimpico, Rome (Italy) – 25% capacity
  • Olympic Stadium, Baku (Azerbaijan) – 50% capacity
  • St Petersburg Stadium, Saint Petersburg (Russia) – 50% capacity
  • Parken Stadium, Copenhagen (Denmark) – 25% capacity
  • Johan Cruijff ArenA, Amsterdam (Netherlands) – 25% capacity
  • National Arena, Bucharest (Romania) – 25% capacity
  • Puskas Arena, Budapest (Hungary) – 100% capacity
  • Wembley Stadium, London (England) – 25% capacity
  • Hampden Park, Glasgow (Scotland) – 25% capacity
  • Estadio La Cartuja, Seville (Spain) – 30% capacity
  • Allianz Arena, Munich (Germany) – 20% capacity

The group stages will be played out across the 11 cities, while the knockout fixtures will be held in the following locations:

The ticket stands outside the Olympic Stadium in Rome for the Euro 2020 tournament.
The Olympic Stadium in Rome is the location of both the opening ceremony and the first game (Picture: Getty)

Last 16

Amsterdam: Johan Cruyff Arena
Bucharest: National Arena
Budapest: Ferenc Puskás Stadium
Copenhagen: Parken Stadium
Glasgow: Hampden Park
London: Wembley Stadium
Seville: La Cartuja


Baku: Olympic Stadium
Munich: Allianz Arena
Rome: Stadio Olimpico
Saint Petersburg: Saint Petersburg Stadium

Semi-finals and final

London: Wembley Stadium

The Scotland and England International Badges with the Euros Logo
The Scotland and England badges on their home shirts with the logo for the Euros (Picture: Visionhaus/Getty Images)

Why are games taking place in different countries?

UEFA made the decision to hold the tournament in multiple cities across Europe to mark the 60th anniversary of the competition.

The pan-European approach was devised as both a special way to commemorate 60 years and as a means of allowing smaller countries, like Wales, to have a unique opportunity of being involved in staging a major sporting event.

MORE : Booing footballers for taking the knee? You should be booing Boris Johnson

MORE : Five players who will rival Harry Kane for the Euro 2020 Golden Boot

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Share your views in the comments below

Related posts

Roy Keane suggests Harry Kane transfer talks are distracting Tottenham striker from England’s Euro 2020 campaign


Chelsea striker Olivier Giroud has numerous options for summer move, reveals agent


Arsenal starlet Bukayo Saka should ‘100 per cent’ be in England’s Euro 2020 squad, says Nigel Winterburn


Leave a Comment